Linus Pauling, desde la base

Entre los científicos que más han aportado para comprender el funcionamiento de la naturaleza, generando nuevo conocimiento más fiable a partir de teorías recién recibidas y gracias a su creatividad y capacidad inquisitiva, destaca Linus Pauling (1901-1994).

Nacido en E.U.A., pero discípulo de grandes maestros europeos (Sommerfeld, Bohr, Schrödinger), Pauling quizá fue fundamentalmente químico, pero trabajó en la encrucijada de la física cuántica y de la biología molecular, de la que es considerado uno de los fundadores. Intervino también no obstante en otras disciplinas, desde la medicina a la psicología o la metalurgia, con un talante enciclopédico digno de los grandes sabios de otras épocas. Recibió el premio Nobel de Química en 1954 y el de la Paz en 1962, por su activismo contra las guerras y el armamento nuclear, que lo movió también a salir de laboratorios falsamente “neutrales” ante los dilemas sociopolíticos.

Las aportaciones más relevantes de Linus Pauling fueron su teoría del enlace químico y su programa de análisis estructural de las macromoléculas biológicas.

  • En su célebre obra The nature of the chemical bond (1939) explicó en profundidad los enlaces químicos entre átomos y, por tanto, la estructura de las moléculas y sistemas cristalinos, y las propiedades resultantes de las sustancias, sobre la base firme y cuantitativa de la mecánica cuántica recién formulada, impulsando de forma decisiva la química cuántica.
  • En cuanto a sus hallazgos en el nacimiento de la biología molecular, aplicando las técnicas de la difracción de rayos X, determinó la estructura molecular de diferentes proteínas y estableció el modelo básico de grandes cadenas polipéptidas enrrolladas una en otra a modo de hélice, noción que abrió paso claramente a la hélice de DNA, de la que estuvo muy próximo.

Parece que suele decirse que Pauling redujo la química a la física, lo cual seguramente no es más que una manera de hablar y de hacer frases. Tal vez sí pueda afirmarse que explicó lo complejo a partir de sus componentes más simples, de manera matemáticamente precisa, todo lo cual es característico de la tradición científica y sirve para entender, calcular y predecir. Las propiedades, el comportamiento y los cambios de los cuerpos sólidos y demás sustancias dependen de la configuración de sus moléculas o redes de átomos, y por tanto de cómo éstos están enlazados. Pauling dio grandes pasos en la ciencia de las moléculas y por consiguiente en la comprensión de cómo se construye la realidad desde abajo.

33 respuestas a Linus Pauling, desde la base

  1. Maxine dice:

    Hey There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn.
    This is a very neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your
    helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely
    return.

  2. seo plan dice:

    Awesome blog😀 I’m very happy I wandered onto it through google. Gonna have to add another one to the list.

  3. zureeliiitha dice:

    esta super wooou thu rabajo eee qe buena onda me ayudo muzho en miii expoxicion grax…………..!!!!!!!!

  4. Luis Duarte XD dice:

    muy bno pero le hace falta info😄 pero de todos modos gracias

  5. Thank you for your amazing post! It has long been extremely beneficial.
    I hope that you will proceed sharing your wisdom with us.

  6. Hi your web-site url: https://martinej.wordpress.com/2008/04/10/linus-pauling/ seems to be redirecting to a completely different web site when
    I click the homepage link. You might want to have this checked.

  7. I’m truly loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility difficulties? Several of my blog readers have complained about my site not working appropriately in Explorer but looks excellent in Chrome. Do you’ve
    any ideas to assist fix this concern?

  8. google dice:

    Greetings I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was researching on Google for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a
    marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  9. go!! dice:

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone
    to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  10. Gloria dice:

    If you would like to get a great deal from this piece of writing then you have to apply these
    strategies to your won web site.

  11. Norway: Sara Nicole Andersen was selected to represent the Scandinavian
    nation in the United States. Combining a great option of attractions, spectacles and adventures for everyone, the region’s inspiring history, cultural background, ample traditions and beautiful scenery make for a exclusive travel experience. There is an extensive network of buses and trains that makes up for easy transportation.

  12. good advice dice:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your weblog? My website is in the very same niche as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Regards!

  13. It’s awesome to pay a quick visit this website and reading the views of all mates regarding this post, while I am also zealous of getting knowledge.

  14. leonie21 dice:

    I’ll right away grasp your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  15. Daniel dice:

    Muy buena la información un 10

  16. please click the next website page

    blog topic

  17. porsha stewart

    LINUS PAULING

  18. Jeramy dice:

    I for all time emailed this web site post page to all my friends, because if like to read it
    next my friends will too.

  19. Darci dice:

    Remarkable! Its really awesome article, I have got much clear
    idea concerning from this paragraph.

  20. Lynne dice:

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any tips?

  21. here dice:

    Great post, Listed to my bookmarks – I have to show it to
    my girl

  22. Furniture dice:

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you
    amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog site?

    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little
    bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  23. Recommended Looking at

    blog topic

  24. Hi are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the
    blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  25. I like what you guys are usually up too.

    Such clever work and exposure! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve
    added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  26. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your web site.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A few of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.
    Do you have any ideas to help fix this issue?

  27. how to buy instagram followers

    LINUS PAULING

  28. Yoսг mode of describing all in this post is really pleasant, all can withοut difficulty know it, Thanks a lߋt.

  29. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I
    am inspired! Very helpful information specifically the remaining section🙂 I handle such info much.
    I was seeking this particular information for a long time.
    Thanks and good luck.

  30. iphone downloads

    Linus Pauling, desde la base | El Observatorio

  31. borderlands 2 glitch machine a sous

    LINUS PAULING

Responder

